Did you like this review?

Monday, February 25, 2013

The Harlem Shake HD - Washington NC

About a week ago, I was casually lurking Facebook, when Trey Elks status popped onto my screen. "Needing someone with a camera to film and edit a Harlem Shake HD Video." I replied. "I'll be there!" and so it was. Saturday morning rolled around. The air was filled with the falling tear drops of angels. The temperature was a coat griping 34, coupled with the 100% humidity. It was real cold. Regardless, 100 brave kids seeking YouTube stardon showed up. Incostume, with a great mentality for doing The Harlem Shake.

And here it is.

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

The Quarry Restaurant + Bar Greenville NC

About The Quarry Restaurant and Bar

The Quarry provides Downtown Greenville North Carolina with specialty hand-crafted pizza, daily lunch specials, and a full sports bar. The menu has a variety of appetizers, salads and sandwiches. Fully stocked bar, wine by the glass/bottle and 21 taps!

The Main Street Review of The Quarry Restaurant and Bar

My wife and I were in town and starving. We pushed our 3 month old son up and down 5th street diligently looking for a tasty bite to eat when we noticed The Quarry Restaurant  There was a table full of sherrifs and we figured.. If the cops are willing to eat there, its gotta be decent, and extra safe because there were roughly 6 or 7 of them. Bonus. 

Soon as we walked in, we were swiftly greeted by a blond gentlemen, and shortly after a very thoughtful and bubbly brunette. There was two gentlemen sitting all the way to left deep in conversation, a table of four Guidos who looked like they got lost on their way to jersey shore. The place was very nice looking, wood grain everywhere, 4 LG TV's playing random sports clips hanging on the wall. The light-bulbs were pretty neat because you could see the filaments  dimly lit. The bar looked nice with all 21 beers on tap. The lovely lady sat us down at the very polished table and took our drink orders.

I walked to the bar to further inspect their selection of beers and decided on an Endless River produced by the local brewery Mother Earth. After returning to my seat and placing our drink orders my wife and I glanced through the menu. She and I were in the mood for a hamburger. So when the waitress came back over she was delighted to know that we already knew what we wanted. We ordered and waited for it to arrive.

The food arrived in a timely manner but i was surprised at how average the portions were. I mean 1/3 LBr, fine, 20 fries probably, no big deal. For the price tho, it was sort of laughable. The meals were $8 for the burger and fries, and $2 for the sweet tea, i mean, granted this isn't McDonald's but for $10 i expected a little more. I sighed with disappointment and took a bite hoping that atleast the flavor of the burger would dampen my sadness. Wrong again.. I've tasted better burgers from Andy's Burgers and Fries in the Greenville mall and for a fraction of the price. The burger was overcooked and slightly burnt. The fries were pretty good. Perhaps burgers arnt their specialty, but from this experience i most likely wont go back to try out if anything else is. Why? Because i couldn't handle the disappointment. 

In conclusion, the people were nice, the place looked great inside, the beer choice was ok, but the prices and food quality were WAY OFF. Im talking, lost like last years Easter eggs, better yet, they were so far off, its as if the person in charge of pricing was navigating his way to the prices using the new iPhone Map App. Cause he was lost AF. So if you want a similar atmosphere with better prices, and better food, and better beer selection, go to the Carolina Ale House.

Late Night Restaurant · Sports Bar
123 East 5th Street, Greenville, NC.
(252) 756-6499

Monday, June 25, 2012

Path to Sommelier week 53

I know i know, long time no update of this fabulous blog. I have done alot of thinking, contempleating, and wine tasting lately and i have decided to transform this blog from an all things  "Main Street" to an all things review. Mostly wine reviews. I hope my readers are happy with the new change. This blog will mark my steps forward to becoming the worlds greatest sommelier , one week at a time. I started wine tasting 53 weeks ago and have tried over 300 wines so far. ^_^ I hope you enjoy this new post.

Dr. Loosen Red Slate Dry Riesling (Mosel Valley, Germany) 
dry Riesling from the red slate area of the Mosel valley, where the iron-rich soil gives a rich mineral note to the wine. This is a wine that will pair greatly with a wide range of edibles...especially something light from oceanic waters.

Tangent Eccleston (Central Coast, California) 
A delectable white blend of all the wine grapes (minus Chardonnay) grown by the Tangent Winery - Pinot Gris, Grenache Blanc, Viognier, Riesling, Muscat, Grüner Veltliner and Albariño.  Delicious!

Chateau de Lascaux Blanc 2010 (Coteaux du Languedoc, France)
The wine shop featured this mineral-driven white blenda few weeks ago and it won over some real fanatics.  The chef on site paired this wine with my favorite Fresh Local Flounder Stuffed with Fresh Local Crabmeat.

Turner & Cole Poggio del Falco 2006 
Super Tuscan blend of Sangiovese, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon.

Sesti Monteleccio 2005 (Montalcino, Italy) 
What's in the bottle here is not only pure Brunello di Montalcino material, but actually Brunello from one of the best and most historic vineyards in the area. The wine is bottled early (after a year in large oak botti, versus four years for the Brunello) to be more approachable.  Outstanding!

Red Pin Cabernet Sauvignon 2011 (Clements Hills, Lodi, California) 
The wine shop sold out of the 2010 vintage of this big, sophisticated red some time ago.  They've been waiting for their friend Tim Turner at Turner Wine Imports to get them some of the new stuff.  Wait no longer.  The 2011 was there and drinking like a dream.

Don Raffaele Merlot 2005 (Napa Valley, California) 
They have been keeping this one in the Cellar because there isnt any more.  It was a limited release from winemaker Peter Chiarella.  To their excellent 2004 vintage Merlot, they added 4% Cabernet Sauvignon and 4% Petite Syrah to produce a wine that emulates the great reds of Pomerol in Bordeaux. 

Gran Baroja Reserva 2001 (Rioja, Spain)  
Another Cellar Selection, this has to be one of my favorite wines in the store.  Rich and sophisticated like the Don and his Dama out at the hacienda looking over the current corral of spirited thoroughbred horses and thinking how well the vino tinto will cut the dust in their throats and bring visions of warm summer nights and clicking castanets.  Just words...try the wine.

Saturday, January 7, 2012

3 week old mcdonalds fries

I found these mcdobalds fries in my car today. They r 3 weeks old and havnt aged a bit. How do they work?

Saturday, May 28, 2011

Tannins and Truffles on Main St Washington Nc

The time was four oclock, the day was the 27th of May, and im walking down Washington Main street with a head full of dismay. My tummy was gurgling, my brow was screaming for mercy when, I spotted Polly's Perfections and hurried in.

Take the smell of George Washington Carvers greatest creation and marry that perfectly with the smell of organic cocoa baking in the over at the degree of perfection. The delightful vertiginous ecstasy permeating my body is driving every endorphins into a trance induced waltz.

The lady behind the counter was adorable and charming. Eager as a beaver to tell me all of the delightful variations of artisan truffles these courageous chocolatiers create. As arcane alchemist  hand crafting the elements into an experience laden in decadency they exist. Their Sole purpose in life is to tantalize someones taste buds, and i am so appreciative that it just so happened to be me that day. I bought a FRESHLY BAKED, STRAIGHT OUT OF THE OVEN, Peanut butter and cocoa brownie. OMG. It was so delicious, oh and i also bought a Pink champagne truffle that was to die for.

Then I headed over to Wine and Words to chat with the most beautiful Mary and visit these great wines in the picture. That woman really knows her wines and this weeks lineup was euphoric. Like always...

Contact Info for the places mentioned:
  1. To Order Your Special Truffles, Contact Lori at: 
    Polly's Perfections
    Phone: 252-360-4818
    Email: lori@pollysperfections.com
    419 East Main Street,
    Washington, NC 27889

  2. A World of Good Taste on Main Street:
    Wine and Words Washington Nc
    220 West Main St. Washington, NC 27889 
    PHONE: 252-974-2870
    Get Directions Here

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Coffee, two books, and a few antiques on Main Street of Washington Nc 27889

Driving down the road, partying solo to the sound of Maynard's voice dancing over my speakers in a momma sed moment of triumph, when i realized. I HAVE MONEY ZOMGBABYJESUSCOPTERCAKES.. What is there to do. MAIN ST! Who to talk too? MAIN ST! How to get there the quickest? SOME OTHER STREETS! I wasn't really hungry, and my blackberry was being slightly held back . So I couldnt really take pictures. Either way... I went walking on the chilly, feb 3, blizzard ridden sky, kinda north Carolinian day.

Passing by the serene micro ripples that ride on the surface of the murky brown brakish water in a slightly slowed walking pace, always seems to calm me down a bit. Here, my mind races to the time when large pirate ships and soon to be pirate ships riddled the port. My eyes spot out all types of places to hide booty. When ever I get a new HD camera, i will make a video of the walk from the start to finish on the board walk. So you can see what i am talking about. The waterfront walk is pretty freakin sweat.

After getting my historical energy fix, i began the trek back to bat mobile. Walking slightly faster then before, i noticed a little antique shop out of the corner of my eye. When I went inside, i was delighted at all of the relics that were i there. My first impression of this shop was that it reminded me of the shops in oblivion that were full of beautiful items and trinkets that you could never use. There were neat crystal cups, made from jade. There was tons of Freemason decor. Shriner decor, etc. I was captivated for a whole 25 mins.

Upon leaving, i went to my favorite little book store and got some coffee and two books.

The first book i got was American Front (The Great War, Book 1) by an author named Harry Turtledove. The second book I got was Black Cross by Greg Iles. I actually got the second book for free!! I am really looking forward to the first read. The book is supposed to be like a what if the south had won the war kinda book that is borderline reality and probably reality in an alternate universe lol.

Btw sorry for not having any pics of the places that i been too, i am in the process of getting a new phone or ipod touch or something,. Then i will have HD videos of everything i do!

Friday, January 21, 2011

Just a quick update

Sorry it has been so long since the last update, but the truth is guise. IM BROKE AS NUTS.


money is near yo.

so feel free to sex up the donation button slow

wait 2 weeks mo.

Poetry of the day would be so proud =]